Why I Hate The Big Bang Theory

A plea to the physics community

Manuel Brenner
5 min readSep 9, 2019
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I gotta warn you: I won’t get into any cosmology here but will be talking about the more mundane world of television instead. This article is a bit of a change of gear from what I usually write about, but for the last couple of weeks I’ve had a slowly building desire to get something off my chest: I really hate The Big Bang Theory (TBBT).

In May this year, TBBT ended after running for 12 years, with an “impressive” total of 279 episodes. It was one of the most popular and successful sitcoms of recent years, winning loads of awards and airing in over 50 countries, with up to 20 million viewers per episode. Especially in Germany it was very widely viewed, with its popularity peaking in the years from 2014 to 2016.

I have to admit that I’m not particularly original with admitting to my distaste for the series. A recent article in a German newspaper claimed that Big Bang Theory has become a symbol for hate-watching, and this article calls it one of the worst series in human history.

I also haven’t watched much of it besides trying out a couple of episodes the first season to understand what the hype was about. To be honest, I couldn’t stand to continue watching. The writing is pretty horrible most of the time. Sometimes it’s just lazy dialogue that relies heavily on…

--

--